Close Family vs. Independent Family

RelationshipForums.com Forums Couples Close Family vs. Independent Family

This topic contains 0 replies, has 1 voice, and was last updated by  DottieHottie 5 years, 2 months ago.

Viewing 1 post (of 1 total)
  • Author

DottieHottie
    Participant

Hello all 🙂

This is my first time posting in a forum, but I really would just like to vent and get some clarity…

I love my boyfriend very much, and he is amazing. We have been dating for almost two years now, after a respectful and cautious 8 or 9 months of just casual conversation. I am five years older (26). Despite our ages, we are both dedicated and ambitious young professionals very much about our future successes.

One major cause of friction between us always seems to boil down to his family. He has a loving family (mom, dad, 2 younger brothers, and one sis). They are literally a year or two apart going down the line. His family is very close, very generous, and totally sweet. When we first started dating he lived at home, although he was closing in on 21 at the time. About 7 or 8 months into our relationship he moved into my apartment and we have done well since. The distance at that point from his family was about a 20 min drive. There were times we would spend a week there and a week home, as our jobs are relatively close. His family has since moved barely five minutes away from my apartment and since they feel a wedding is imminent and definite (lol) are always suggesting we find a house in their neighborhood.